Mangawhai Artists Inc.



Mission Statement


  •  To provide the vehicle to support, promote and nurture creativity of all art forms in our community
  •  To enable Artists into achieve their inherent potential.
  •  To foster universal appreciation of art.

The Mangawhai artists originated in 2002 and was headed by Joy Agar and Sue Blinco. Local artists staged an annual art trail in conjuction with the Mangawhai Walking Weekend held in early autumn. Since then the group has evolved into a much larger group run by a committee of volunteers, and is now registered as an Incorporated Society with a membership of around 90 (2012). 


We have continued to run an art trail each year alongside the Walking Weekend’s activities and have put in place a second trail run at Labour Weekend. We have also held independent art exhibitions and our members regularly sell and demonstrate their craft around the Kaipara region.  In conjunction with the Kapara District Council, Dargaville Arts Association and Kauri Museum we also run the annual Kaipara Art Awards.


We have established a website which not only promotes the group’s activities but allows each member to have their own web page or link to their independent website.


A series of development workshops have been staged here in Mangawhai to assist our members in marketing their work, plus a number of weekend workshops have been held lead by professional artists.  These were highly successful and will be continued each winter. 


Our intention is to fully support the artistic community throughout the year in various ongoing events and to help promote Mangawhai as a vibrant artistic region.Our current project is to establish our own premises from where we will exhibit work, conduct teaching workshops, and provide a meeting place and drop in centre for our members.


Our group represents a wide range of artists from the professional level to hobbyist. It is our intention to promote each and every individual to their chosen level, whilst also providing a supportive technical and social network.  We welcome new members - contact us for a Membership Application.


Current Committee:


Chair: John Pickworth

Immediate Past Chair: Jan Grover

Deputy Chair: Jean Fountain

Secretary: Brenda Adams

Treasurer: Puti Hookings



Jean Fountain

Sarah C

Mary-Anne Boyd

Grant Mitchell

Paul Kaiser